New faces on Brooklyn Park City Council

Half of the Brooklyn Park City Council will be new faces.

West District winner: Susan Pha

John Jordan vacated his West District seat when he moved out of the city earlier this year and Amy Hanson and Susan Pha both cleared the primary to be on the ballot to replace him. The council plans to appoint the winner on Thursday to fill the vacancy. Susan Pha won with 56 percent of the vote over Hanson to be the first minority on the Brookyn Park City Council.

Central district winner: Mark Mata

Longtime council member Mike Trepanier is not running for re-election in the Central District. Mark Mata and James Jackson both competed for the open seat. Former council member Mata won with 51 percent of the vote.

East district winner: Lisa Jacobson

In the East District, Lisa Jacobson and Reva Chamblis ran to replace Council member Peter Crema. Jacobson captured 56 of the vote.
Mayor Jeff Lunde (R) will be staying on the city council, as he lost his bid for Senate District 36 to incumbent John Hoffman (DFL). Lunde has two years remaining on his term.


 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments:
Sports story ideas and comments:
Community Calendar:
Northwest Community Television - Channel 12
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
Copyright © 2016 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.